Priya Doobaree has become the first female pilot permanent observer for the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Air Navigation Commission at the ICAO 41st Assembly.

Doobaree is a member of The Ninety Nines International Organisation Of Women Pilots - African Section, Captain for Air Mauritius, is one of the few women representatives of International Federation of Air Line Pilots' Associations (IFALPA) and its new permanent representative to the Air Navigation commission. She made her first intervention on Agenda item 27, supporting papers on gender diversity.

The Air Navigation Commission considers and recommends Standards and Recommended Practices and Procedures for Air Navigation Services for adoption or approval by the ICAO Council.

The Commission is composed of nineteen members who have “suitable qualifications and experience in the science and practice of aeronautics”, as outlined in the Convention on International Civil Aviation (Chicago Convention). Although ANC Commissioners are nominated by specific ICAO Member States, and appointed by the Council, they do not represent the interest of any particular State or Region. Rather they act independently and utilize their expertise in the interest of the entire international civil aviation community. Additionally, a number of people from States and industry participate in the Air Navigation Commission as observers.