The Vertical Flight Society (VFS) has selected teams from 16 universities to compete in the fourth annual Design-Build-Vertical Flight (DBVF) Student Competition. The 16 academic teams involved in the competition represent universities located in 12 US states, plus Canada, India and Malaysia. The selection marks the largest number of academic teams to participate in the DBVF Competition since VFS launched the event in 2021.

The electric-powered vertical takeoff and landing (eVTOL) DBVF competition seeks to encourage interest in uncrewed aircraft systems (UAS) technology, and small air vehicle design and fabrication. The competition is designed to develop hands-on skills and familiarization with eVTOL and advanced air mobility (AAM) technology at the university student level, helping to prepare the next generation of engineers and leaders to push the limits of this exciting technology into the future.

VFS will award a total of $5,000 to the highest-scoring teams next spring, following a flyoff to be held on April 10-12, 2024. The society is grateful for the support of Supernal, a developer of eVTOL aircraft, and a Gold-level sponsor of this year’s competition.

The 16 selected teams are:

Auburn University
 Case Western Reserve University
 Cooper Union for Advancement of Science & Art
 Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
 Georgia Institute of Technology
 Kumaraguru College of Technology, India
 McGill University
 North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
 Pennsylvania State University
 Texas A&M University
 University of California, Irvine
 University of Maryland
 University of Michigan
 University Putra Malaysia
 University of Wisconsin-Madison
 Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology

The final selected teams will compete head-to-head in the flyoff at Harford Airport in Churchville, Maryland. SURVICE Engineering is hosting the DBVF flyoff via its Applied Technology Operation (ATO) facility for the second year in a row.

Sales CTA Aug 2023.png