From Quinnipiac University

The Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine at Quinnipiac University has been awarded full accreditation from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), the U.S. Department of Education-recognized accrediting body for programs leading to the MD degree in the United States. LCME is jointly sponsored by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the American Medical Association (AMA).

“Receiving full accreditation from the LCME is the realization of our vision for the Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine, and an affirmation of the high quality and standards of its educational program,” said Dr. Bruce Koeppen, founding dean. “It is a critical milestone in the life of a medical school and enables us to continue attracting the highest-caliber students. This is a thrilling moment that was made possible by the hard work of our entire team, including our board of trustees, senior administration and faculty and staff across all three campuses.”

In its formal findings, the LCME survey team recognized several positive observations, including an organization and operation that facilitates the schools educational mission and goals; developmental activities that help faculty effectively carry out their roles as educators; outstanding physical facilities for learning and study, with modern, well-lit instructional areas, ample study space and “au courant” academic technology; an innovative Scholarly Reflection Capstone Course that fosters well-rounded students who understand the importance of scholarship in the practice of medicine; a multi-faceted interprofessional education program; and clinical partners that are strongly supportive of school’s educational mission and aligned with its primary care emphasis in physician workforce development.

LCME accreditation is a peer-review process of quality assurance to determine if a medical school program meets established standards in medical education. New schools go through a rigorous three-step accreditation process, which began for the Frank H. Netter School of Medicine in 2012. Full accreditation is granted for five years.

Read Full Story...